Skip to Content

RL Spanish for Heritage Learners program wins prestigious UO MLK award

(from L-R) Holguín, Quarles, Costales, León-Howarth, Darwin-López, and Zunterstein

(from L-R) Holguín, Quarles, Costales, León-Howarth, Darwin-López, and Zunterstein

This year the University of Oregon Equity Innovation Award will be awarded to the Spanish Heritage Language (SHL) program and its working and research group on January 21, 2015 at the annual MLK Award Ceremony at the University of Oregon. The SHL program has been honored with this prize for its “outstanding work in transforming, reorganizing and streamlining the experience of the growing numbers of Latino students who pursue studies of Spanish at the University of Oregon.”

The SHL program is an initiative of the UO Department of Romance Languages to meet the needs of the changing population of our university. This program is designed specifically for Spanish heritage language learners; students who have a personal, familial, or community connection to Spanish. It is comprised of a variety of courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels and is taught by a diverse cross-section of faculty.

The working and research group from the UO SHL program lead by the director of the SHL program, Assistant Professor Claudia Holguín Mendoza, is composed of a team of committed, enthusiastic and dynamic educators, scholars, and staff. The SHL working and research group focuses its efforts on the development of sociolinguistic and language teaching theoretical approaches for the creation, and development of innovative pedagogical methodologies that fully acknowledge the socio-historical contexts and realities of our Latin@ heritage learners. We conceive of our SHL program and curricula development as efforts of social justice.

Join us in congratulating the SHL working and research team: Instructor Rafael Arias Anrango, Instructor and SHL Adviser and Instructor Amy Costales, Professor of Spanish Robert L. Davis, SHL Instructor Liliana Darwin-López, Assistant Professor Claudia Holguín Mendoza, Senior Instructor Kelley León-Howarth, Senior Instructor Heather Quarles, Adjunct Instructor Sebastián Urioste Guglielmone, Senior Instructor Nathan Whalen, and Senior Instructor Alex Zunterstein.